Running Lingo - help me out here...... (Read 365 times)

I am not new to running, I am just new to organized running and really thinking about this thing ya'll call "training".....

I enter my runs and am familiar with most of the terms, however, what exactly do "interval" and "tempo" runs imply?  Confused

tamma-run

Tammarin.....

zonykel

I think Jack Daniels' "Daniels Running Formula" explains all the different training terms. There may be a link somewhere that explains the definitions, though.

stadjak

Interval Junkie --Nobby

intervals are usually some small (200m thru 2mil) set distance that you would do several times in a workout.  So for example: 4x400m -- you would run 400m, then typically rest for 60-90sec, then run 400m again.

tempo runs don't include any stopping.  So, imagine a longish run where you speed up in the middle.  So, jog for 2miles, then run 4miles pretty quickly, but not race pace, then jog for 2miles ago.

for extra credit:

fartlek is where you do something similar to tempo runs, but it is typically not planned.  You do something like jog 2miles, then do 400m at 5k pace, then 1mil at marathon pace (MP), then 400m at 5k pace, then 1/2 mile at HMP, etc.  Sometimes it's just jog, and when you see a stop-sign run-fast until you pass it.

2021 Goals: 50mpw 'cause there's nothing else to do

hmmm... thanx to all.  gives me something to go on/place to start.  I think I do some of these things, just didn't know it Smile

zonykel - thanx - very good link!  good explanations and like I said - done some of this (maybe with a twist) already

BoilerTom90 - 2nd ed book looks interesting.  added it to my list!  glad it didn't involve whiskey ......

stadjak - thanks for the instant gratification.  I had a vague idea but you helped.

Tammarin.....

DoppleBock