How long before first marathon/pace advice (Read 147 times)

TNRetinaRunner

Hi all.  I've been following the discussions for a few months, but this is my first post.  I'm very confident I'll find the guidance I need here.

First, I'll say that as I'm new to RunningAhead, I have yet to master training data input, so I'll briefly explain my current situation.

I've been running for about 5 months.  In those 5 months, I have shed about 20 lbs, and I currently tip the scales at 200.  I'm 5'9".

I average 25-30 mpw.  My first long-distance race was the Charleston 1/2 marathon on January 19th which I completed in 1:57.  In training for the Charleston 1/2, I ran 3 training runs at race distance, besting previous times with each attempt (first run at HM distance was finished in 2:04:48 six wks before race day).  10 days ago, I ran 13.1 miles in 1:48 (however legitimate or not, as the route was not pre-determined and a few traffic stops were necessary, allowing me moments of brief rest).  4 days ago, I officially began marathon training as I upped my distance to 15.2 miles in an attempt to avoid growing too comfortable at the half marathon distance.  I finished the 15 miles in 2:11:57 for an avg pace of 8:41.

With that out of the way, I have two questions.

First, a coworker/ running friend suggested I wait a year before doing a marathon.  Reason being, my body will "continue to change" for the first year of running.  Is this a valid reason to avoid marathon training for now?  I guess I see some logic here.  I don't want to injure myself, but I also see logic in hoping that marathon training will catalyze some physical change.  After all, I do still weigh in at 200#.  I've caught the bug, and I don't want to temper my love of the sport arbitrarily.