Training for too many things! (Read 550 times)

I am brand new to Running Ahead, but so far I like it. Getting advice from other runners is ideal. I think I've confused my body with what I am training for. I am training for the Broad Street run in May, and also a half-marathon relay in March, and a 5K in March. I've run 5K races before, but my goal is a 21 minute race and the best I've done so far is 23:30. With how I run, and what I'm in training for I'm not sure how much of what I should do each week - such as long, speed, easy, race pace runs. Any suggestions?? I also play on a co-ed soccer team one night a week, and wonder if that should be considered as one of my workouts or not. My day after soccer games runs have to be easy since my body is usually upset with me for all the aggressive moves that go with soccer. Has anyone ever run a half-marathon relay? This is new to me. I have NEVER run more than 5 miles at a time for a race so the 10 mile Broad Street will be a first for me.

Michelle

Generally speaking, a long run per week, a tempo run per week and an interval workout per week - mixed up with a couple easy runs per week - can help you train for races from 5k to 10mi and beyond. You can use the McMillan calculator to figure out your training paces: http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/Running%20University/Article%201/mcmillanrunningcalculator.htm

Go to http://certainintelligence.blogspot.com for my blog.

mikeymike

I agree, 5k and 10 mi training are not all that different. I would definitely consider soccer one workout a week so that would leave (for me who's a ninny and knows he can only handle 2 hard efforts per week) one other day per week to do a workout. So I guess, if it were me, I'd do 1 longish run with some race pace running built in, a 2nd longish run at an easy pace and a bunch of shorter easy runs, one of them with some strides. That plus soccer would likely be about what I could handle.

Runners run

Scout7