Debut marathon pacing advice (Read 157 times)

djs

Hello all,

I am seeking advice on pacing for my first marathon coming up on 13th April.

I have been logging my workouts on runningahead for 6 or 7 years now. This has included running and playing field hockey.  So I have some miles in my legs, although not at Marathon training volume I guess. I have only done half a dozen fun runs over the last few years, up to 11km only. No half marathons or marathons. (Please see my log for details of the training I have completed. )

A summary in my own words if that helps..

Started with a base of 50 to 60k per week with maybe a 16k or 18k longest run.

I have been following some kind of plan (about 17weeks long) since middle of December,  and progressed the long run to 35k, with maybe 4 or 5 runs of 30km or more so far.  2 to go!  Roughly the second half of my plan has been based on Pfitzinger, somewhere between the 18/55m and 18/70m plans. I have peaked at a bit over 100km/week. Long/medium long run paces have been from around  5.07 to 5.20. per km. Tempos around 4.30 per km. Intervals a touch under 4 per km pace. I have run the two Pfitz Marathon Pace runs  which included 19k and 21k at 4.45 to 4.47 per km. (which was really hard. Not sure WHY I picked 4.45 perk for that, probably sweet talked by those online calculators! ) The only recent  data re speed is that I did a fun run 26th January, 5 miles in 34:26 on a hilly course, and a 5km time trial with net down hill in 19.xx mins. At about the same stage of training last year  I did a 42.14 for 10k time trial. During my first MP run I got a Garmin best time for the half marathon distance of around 1.41.13

Health wise with a month to go I am starting to believe I will make the start line undamaged, there are no major issues. Fingers crossed!

I would be very grateful for any advice and opinions coming my way. And I apologise for all the km paces, thats the way we do it down here :-)

Regards,

DJS

BeeRunB