Advice for the out of shape asthmatic :) (Read 1771 times)

deonk1

Hi Everyone, 

I'm new to the whole running experience, one of my best friends is an avid runner and she's been helping me out a bit, but I also wanted to ask for some advice from you guys the experts (or well you're more expert than I am). Big grin

I'm asthmatic, and well I started running because I compete with my dog in agility competitions. It requires me to be able to run at top speed barking orders (forgive the pun) while trying not to step on the dog for about a total of 3 min. Usually one does this 3-5 times during a trial. When I got half way through my first timed course I nearly keeled over so I decided it was time to get fit! 

I've started running around my block and then the two consecutive blocks and I'm at about 1.4k in 10ish min give or take depending on the temperature outside. Its getting colder out and I'm struggling with the cold... So I'm looking for any and all advice you have to give to someone who has no clue what their doing. Oh on another note, I only take inhalers when I have bad colds, so I'm attempting to build me lung strength without needing to take inhalers. 

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Oh on another note, I only take inhalers when I have bad colds, so I'm attempting to build me lung strength without needing to take inhalers. 

If you are chronically asthmatic and aren't properly treated, then you are actually damaging your lungs (asthma attacks create scarring, over time) and putting yourself at risk for a potentially deadly attack.  You don't strengthen your lungs by gutting it out through asthma.  Talk to your Dr., get on a proper treatment regimen, THEN run to strengthen your lungs.

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

deonk1