Tired after running (Read 2860 times)

Been running since Oct 07 and have upped my mileage to around 20km/week. Currently doing long runs of 10k, which push me but if there was a gun to my head I could def run further. However, when I get home from my long runs, for the next 5 hours or so I am EXHAUSTED. Not sore, just very lethargic, can't be bothered talking let alone getting off the couch. Today I got back around 9:30am, had breakfast, got dragged out to do chores by my bf, got home and had lunch - the whole time I felt almost coma-like. Anyone else experience this, and how do I make it go away?!!

Where's my coffee?

Take a little nap. Give in to the exhaustion for a wee bit. I also find that if I am the least bit underhydrated I will be more tired. Are you eating something to refuel after you run? Good luck and give it some more time. If you've only been running since 10/07 your body could very well still be adjusting to the added mileage. I am not a running expert, nor do I play one on TV . . . so who knows if there's any merit to what I think!
      My sport is your sport's punishment!
        You may be running too fast. Check out the low HR training group for more on this... http://runningahead.com/groups/LOWHRTR/

Make sure that you eat a little before your run, and no matter what eat something as soon as you finish running. Take a nap or at least loaf around for a few hours afterwards if you need to.

Run to Win
          25 Marathons, 17 Ultras, 16 States (Full List)