Am I at the end of my running career or can I reset my training and continue? (Read 441 times)

Camp Muir

I'm having arthritis pain in my left knee.  I had arthroscopic surgery on it 20 years ago for ITBS (which wasn't correctly diagnosed as I went into surgery.)  The surgeon removed some synovial tissue and I was able to return to running about 3 weeks later.  Unfortunately my situation as a graduate student in physics at that time prevented me from continuing my running at my previous level and thus I lost my best shot at a sub 3 hour marathon.

I've run off and on since then.  In the last 5 years or so I've become much more interested in running again (I'm now a HS physics teacher) and have started to have some success placing in my age group in local 5k races.  Two years ago in the fall while in half marathon training I stopped and saw an orthopedic doctor about my chronic left knee pain which had suddenly become acute on one hard tempo run during half marathon training.  The doc diagnosed arthritis and told me that I wouldn't be able to run but that I could bike and stuff.  I ignored him.  Rehabbed my knee and the next year ran 2:00:13 for the half marathon.

This year I had my heart set on breaking 2:00:00.  Some setbacks this winter from other stuff prevented me from running a spring half though I was able to train to be essentially all but ready (could have run it but would have likely come up short of breaking 2.)

Anyway I recent visit to my doc discouraged me as he said to me that I might not want to continue to run as it could make the arthritis significantly worse and I wouldn't be able to do other activities.  I would trade running for continuing to back-pack and bike for an extended period but I'm still running.  (I am still considering climbing Denali (Mt. Mckinley) in '15 or '16 and will need a reliable knee for both the ascent and the training for the ascent.)