TRIATHLON (Read 353 times)

CT JEFF

HI - I have been checking out the forums and looking on other sites. RA has a great group of people and great traffic, so it just makes sense to have these discussions here.

I have been running for the past few years. Not fast yet. 1:51HM, 3 FM completed. Last summer I dusted off the bike for some cross training and started thinking "this isnt hard". So, a few months later I signed up for a SPRINT TRI.

Im still a very new beginner, but I signed up with a TRI group, and have been learning a lot.

One thing I find lacking in other sites is the focus on running. Most training plans focus hours on bike, with few on runs. Id rather a plan based around my love of running. I dont mind sitting on a bike for hours, but..

RUN SAFE.     Barefoot 1st: 6/9/13. PR: 5k=22:50 10k=47:46 HM 1:51. FM 4:28 Oct 2015 joined RUN 169!

for sprint triathlon, the training doesn't matter.  Most people on a running forum should be able to complete a sprint triathlon with a week of training, and most could compete with a few weeks of training.  Focus on the run if you want.

To follow the 'but' of your post, though, for longer distance triathlon, the hours on the bike is more important than the hours running.

It takes a well conditioned butt to sit on a bike for 5 1/2 hours on a bike and be ready to run a marathon.

It takes a special amount of mental focus to get through the race.

With that being said, the hardest part of a long distance triathlon is the last 6 hours, so running is incredible important.

Life Goals:

#1: Do what I can do

#2: Enjoy life

running metalhead

for sprint triathlon, the training doesn't matter.  Most people on a running forum should be able to complete a sprint triathlon with a week of training, and most could compete with a few weeks of training.  Focus on the run if you want.

Really? You swear it? 
        Even for those of us who swim like a poodle? xd

- Egmond ( 14 januari )            :  1:41:40 (21K)