Help with 10k speed (Read 200 times)

Wing

Joggaholic

I have signed up for a 10k, I have 4 weeks to prepare for it. I should've trained/planned ahead earlier but I messed up and thought the race was going to be in May. I've just "restarted" after a couple of fairly low volume months.

This is what I normally do (am getting back into):

~40+ mpw, mostly easy runs

1 day of intervals, usually something like 10x400s or 6x800s

1 long run on the weekend (I used to run around 13 miles, but haven't gotten back into this habit lately)

My question is if there is 1 or 2 workouts I can add or substitute in to help with my 10k speed? I'm not in shape for PR now, I just want my time to not suck too badly. Based on how I ran my 5k race last week, I am not optimistic. I know it is not realistic to expect much improvement in this short a period of time, but I do hope to carry on the workout to improve my 10k time this year, not just for this race.

Thanks!

npaden

I'm not an expert, but last year when I was working on my 10K goal race I did pretty much what you are doing, but I added some longer intervals in there at goal 10K pace.  4 X 1 miles, 5 X 1,000s, etc.

Earlier on in my plan I did some Tempo runs at HMP, but toward the end I focused on sharpening with some 200s mixed in with some 400s and 800s.  Also added in 6 x 15 second strides on about half of my easy runs.

I made a knock off of someone's Hanson 10K plan that I used.  It's still in my log under training plans.

Good luck!

Current PR's:  Mara 3:14:36* (2017); HM 1:36:13 (2017); 10K 43:59 (2014); 5K 21:12 (2016)

MoBramExam

Similar to npaden's response:

I would try to get in two or three tempo runs at HM pace/effort.  I'd go for about 40:00 minutes since that is about how long you will be racing when you run your 10K.  Work on focusing the full tempo time.  Train the brain.

As for speed, little time for anything to really soak in, so short (200s or 400s) intervals for sharping.

Good Luck!

Wing

Joggaholic