Newbie introduction (Read 802 times)

juniordo1

Hi, I’m new to this forum.  I am fairly new to running.

I am a 42 year old male who probably hadn’t run 50 miles total before my 41st birthday.

In September of 2009 I decided to start running. I was inspired to begin running by my cancer- surviving 67 year old uncle who had recently completed Grandma’s marathon.

I had just lost 30lbs in the six months prior on my elliptical in my living room. I soon found out that the beatings I put myself through on the elliptical were nothing compared to what lie ahead. The elliptical gave me a level of fitness but it didn’t translate well to running. The first day I took off and ran about 2/10 of a mile and I thought I was going to die. My only frame of reference of pace was from boot camp in 1986 when I ran 3 miles in 21:30. My shoes were off the shelf from a major shoe discounter and my gear was cotton T-shirts and basketball shorts. Boy I had a lot to learn!

Within weeks I was up to running three miles but I was always very sore and couldn’t run back to back days. In December of 2009 I was 2.5 miles in to a 3 mile run on the treadmill when I felt a pain in my right ankle. I chose to ignore it and run through the pain. I should have listened to my body. I spent the next two weeks hobbling around with an air cast to stabilize the torn ligaments in my ankle.

After two months off I eased back into running. This time I was more prepared and visited a running store to get properly fitted for shoes and to update my clothes to some technical gear. Spring came and I gradually increased the mileage and I was running 3-5 miles every other day. It was around the end of May that I decided I wanted to get serious about running. I was concerned though because I wasn’t progressing and every run was a beating.