What to eat before 5am run? (Read 1327 times)

Typically, I wake up at 4:45am, get dressed/geared-up, chug a glass of water, and I'm out-the-door by 5am for my weekday runs. I've always worked-out (regardless of type) better on an empty/semi-empty stomach early in the morning.

Well, now I'm pregnant (early 1st trimester) and the nausea is starting. Before this morning's run I knew I needed to put something in my stomach, so I grabbed an oreo--Yes, I know not the most nutrious of choices, but it was quick, easy and tasty. Big grin

So, what are some QUICK (I'm already up at 4:45am and don't want to get up any earlier), pre-run snack ideas that will be just enough to coat the stomach to ward off the nausea and won't make me feel all full/sluggish?

I'm a newbie runner and I'm up to about 12mpw, so all my runs are pretty short (3-4miles). It's not like I need the extra fuel for a long run--I just need to put something in my stomach.

Thanks!!

I see nothing wrong with oreo :-) You're pregnant, and running. Treat yourself!  

You could also try a fig netwon, or a cracker or two? 

JML

Well.....I cannot speak to the pregnancy aspect but may have a suggestion on a snack.  I frequently arrive home at the end of the day having consumed my weight in coffee.  On the occasion that this gives me an acid stomach, the evening run is somewhat queasy.    I have found that a couple of saltines will settle my stomach while not filling me up.

Rebuilding my aerobic base....racing next year.....nothing to see here....move along now.

I'm a morning runner who runs on an empty stomach. If i do choose ton have something, I go with light simple carbs. Why not the oreo? But some other things I've snacked on:

fistful of cheerios

half of a mini-bagel

half or a full pop-tart

piece of toast

couple pretzels or crackers

Pop Tarts for this guy. Specifically, raspberry flavored, but your taste in artificial flavors may vary.