marathon training (Read 1423 times)

I've been running for a year and 7 months but had a 4 month layoff because of injury. Been running 7 months in a row have been training for my first marathon for 7 weeks now. I've been training at 9:40 pace long runs and about 9:20 for the short runs. Basically I've been letting my legs tell me how fast if they feel good I just stay with that pace. I have 13 weeks before my race if I continue with these paces what kind of pace should I expect come race day.

Feeling the growl again

With no public log and such little information, no one is going to be able to do more than guess wildly for you...if you keep your log here you could open that up for people to look at, or give a more complete picture of your training.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

ok, I'll play. Assuming you make it to the starting line. You run the first 8 miles feeling great at around 9:20. Start to think better of that strategy and click into the 9:40's you've been doing in training. The wheels fall off at 20 miles and you slog home at 11:00 miles.

Or you run a 3:15.

It's all a big guess, 7 weeks in to your training.

Get off my porch

I'm doing Hal Higdon's novice training schedule my log numbers aren't quite right I walk about a mile after every run and don't turn off the timer  and put the total time down of the run and walk I'll make my log public.

I've been running for a year and 7 months but had a 4 month layoff because of injury. Been running 7 months in a row have been training for my first marathon for 7 weeks now. I've been training at 9:40 pace long runs and about 9:20 for the short runs. Basically I've been letting my legs tell me how fast if they feel good I just stay with that pace. I have 13 weeks before my race if I continue with these paces what kind of pace should I expect come race day.