New German test for steroids. (Read 58 times)

Reuters (the news agency) reported on Nov. 19th that German researchers had developed and successfully used a new test procedure capable of detecting smaller amounts of steroids and for a longer time after use, and that this test is being used to retest frozen samples taken from athletes at the 2006 Winter Olympics in Turin.

This development seems to have potential to make cheating less attractive in various competitive individual and team sports where it has been a problem. This would include track and field, swimming, cycling and  team sports such as baseball and football, among others.

As a fan of clean sport I would like to learn more about this new test, how it works, and what the limitations may be.

Unfortunately I have zero knowledge of pharmacy or biology, but have tried to become better informed by reading. I am hoping people who know more about this subject will provide more information.

What I (think) I know so far:

1)  Steroids are a broad class of drugs usually having both anabolic  and androgenic effects in various proportions. Anabolic refers to cellular level effects such as stimulating production of red blood cells or improving bone density, while androgenic effects are those which promote masculine characteristics such as increased muscle mass.

2) Testing for steroids is done by urinalysis, the presence of certain metabolites revealing use of steroids. How long these metabolites remain in the urine depends on the type of steroid used and the dosage. Older products like dianobol may show traces for a period of months after use has been discontinued, newer products like clenbuterol will clear in a few days.

Masking agents in the form of diuretics can be used to mask or hide the presence of the metabolites.