How to run a faster 1/2 marathon? (Read 221 times)

belikedurkheim

Hi,

I'm a newbie to running. I just completed my first half-marathon, 31, female in 2:12. I loved running the race!  My next scheduled race is for May 2014.  I was wondering how I can train to become faster? I run on average 20-25 miles per week for the past three months. I used a "couch to half/marathon app" for the first race. Should I just keep increasing my mileage every week? What kind of workouts will help me to run faster? Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Latent Runner

Given the respectable pace you're already running, I would suggest you keep your current training pace intact and gradually increasing your weekly mileage up into the mid to high thirties, maybe even higher.  When it comes to longer races, nothing beats lots of LSD (Long Slow Distance), errr, that is until you start finishing up near where the elite runners in your age group are finishing.  Smile

Fat old man PRs:

• 1-mile (point to point, gravity assist): 5:50
      • 2-mile: 13:49
      • 5K (gravity assist last mile): 21:31
      • 5-Mile: 37:24
      • 10K (first 10K of my Half Marathon): 48:16
      • 10-Mile (first 10 miles of my Half Marathon): 1:17:40
      • Half Marathon: 1:42:13
      cjervin

Congratulations on your first half!

How I improved from a 2+ hour half (averaging 15 - 25 mile weeks) to a consistent sub 2 half runner with only a moderate increase mileage was:

1.  Reduced the pace of my easy runs and long runs

2.  Added a weekly tempo run (either 10k or half marathon pace)

With your recent half marathon time, you can use that to determine your pace using one one the on-line calculators, such as McMillan --

http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/index.php/calcUsage/calculate.

Best of luck!

running metalhead

Hi,