Start my program or delay it? (Read 531 times)

Timbodeener

Need some opinions from those of you that have utilized specific training plans for an upcoming race....I have never used one before. My niece has organized a "family" race day and talked a bunch of family members into running the Cherry Blossom 10-miler on April 6th. We have 6 of us registered for the 10M and 4 registered for the 5K so it should be a fun weekend and I am really looking forward to it. I've never been in a "big" race before and I think it will be a great experience. The farthest I've ever run is 15K but that was back in 1982 so I really want to do some "structured" training to try and have a good race...I know I should just be happy to try and finish that distance but I want to try and get a decent time....besides my 33 year old nephew/fly fishing buddy is running also and is already talking trash on how he is going to kick my butt (even though he has not been running for a few years). I am sure I won't be able to beat him but I want to make him work for it at least, if you know what I mean.... Anyway...sorry for long intro to my question.... I was planning on using a slightly scaled down version of a half-marathon training program I found on another site and modify it a little to fit my schedule and current ability...it is a 10-week program and includes some intervals, tempo runs and long runs of course. I plan on cutting back some on the distance of most of the runs since I will be going 10 miles instead of 13 in the race. I never in my life utilized speed work per se...just ran a little faster in some training runs when a race was coming up...so I'm anxious to see how my body and fitness level will respond. The program is supposed to start on Tuesday (Mondays are supposed to be "off days"). The problem is that I have been sick all last week with a mild flu that, while it has not knocked me off my a$$, has left me feeling week and muscles achy. As a result I have not felt good enough to r