overtraining even though im a new runner?? (Read 1159 times)

ok i have a question, i am fairly new to running, only been doing it since about april 1. I have run two 5ks in the last month and LOVE it anyways, i have a lofty goal of running a 1/2 marathon by septemer/october. i downloaded a hahigdon program and he says to take mon/fri off for rest. well this weekend i ran more than normal ( you can check out my log) and i really should take today off, but i feel ok, except for a little knee pain. would it really hurt to just run 3 miles? or should i just stick to the elliptical to get some cardio in. I have read so much about preventing injury, but i really feel up for the run. any opinions?
      I'd say if you have knee pain then rest. Also looking at your log the thing most likely to cause you injury is not your distance/number of days running but the pace you are running at. if you are racing at 5.37 per km over 5km then you need to be doing most of your easy/long runs at much slower pace than that. you are doing most of it at 6.00 per km (ish) which i'd say is too fast. by all means run once or twice a week at that pace but you need to be doing more running at around 6.30 pace.
      vicentefrijole

but i feel ok, except for a little knee pain. would it really hurt to just run 3 miles?
        Don't do it! Shocked Big grin Okay, that's just my opinion... but I've had to make decisions like this before and I've found that when I get in the habit of pushing my luck just a little too much I end up injured... and then I can't do anything for a couple months... I've only recently gotten a little better about "respecting" my rest days... So I say, if you've gotta run today, do that 3 miles REALLY slow and easy (and turn around walk home immediately if anything feels bad)... but if you're gonna do it that way, you might as well stick with the eliptical and be healthy. Big grin Other opinions?
          i feel ok, except for a little knee pain.