Ouch - my Knee (Read 752 times)

Kizzy

Hi everyone This is my first posting, I stumbled across this site in December and have since become a "running bore", so my sis described to me the other day, and Im pretty new to the running game, all through school I was a sprinter (100m - 200m job done! - type of thing) I am trying to get fit to run a 1/2 marathon in June and want to run the London Marathon next year, have been running 2 and 3 mile routes at roughly 10 min mile and went out Sunday and did just under 5 mile at 11min pace, Monday my right knee felt like it had been replaced with a razor blade and today Tuesday there is still a twinge when I go up and down stairs, but not as bad. Im due to go back out tonight for at least 2 or 3 mile, should I just get on with it and run, strap the knee and run, or rest it. Also, is this is be expected at my ripe old age of (ssshhhh 40 - still need therapy to say that word!), I would appreciate any advice. Clowning around
    Chris UK

Hi Kizzy - welcome to the forum. I started running again last April and had 2 bouts of knee twinges/pain which was probably the result of pushing too hard before the body had adapted fully. In the first instance I had to stop running for 3 weeks until I felt no pain when walking. You might want to try a combination of walking/jogging first just to see if you can train without pain. Some injuries can improve with light training but if you don't let it get better first then you might have to delay your training even more further down the line. If you do need to take time out you can always cross-train to keep up the cardiovascular - swimming, biking etc. I know this is not what you want hear when you are hooked on running (been there!!) but better to be safe than sorry in my view. In the meantime there is some good advice here - http://www.uihealthcare.com/topics/prepareemergencies/prep4922.html

3000 miles

Sub 19:00 for 5K  05-03-13 Clee Prom 5K - 19:00:66 that was bloody close!