Boston Race Report (Read 848 times)

Due to the length of my report, and to shamelessley promote my blog, you can check out my weekend in Boston at: http://metaoflife.blogspot.com/ For those of you not wanting to read, I finished in 2:49:56 with halfs of 1:26:20/1:23:36
    vicentefrijole

Great performance, Mark D! Your improvements with each Marathon are impressive... I read a little of your Blog and it looks like you'd suggest 'Advanced Marathoning' to get beyond that 3 hr mark, yes? Any particular reason? Any other books you've made good use of? Hope you have a healthy recovery.
        I really enjoyed the Pfitz program. I think that the type of training that it focuses on will improve someone of ANY ability. If you are looking to go sub-3:00 and have a substantial base, I would encourage you to give it a try. I did the 18/70 program. This is a substantial program in terms of time devoted to running. I'm a student and made it work out, but there were times when I'm thinking "Geez, people have full time families & jobs and put this kind of training in." Make sure you (and your significant others) know what kind of commitment you are getting yourself into. In terms of training, I don't care what program it is, but whatever you use you need to be aware of your goal pace. 3:00 is 6:52/mile. One of the things I do when training, particularly as I get deeper into the training, is having an idea each day of which pace corresponds to which finishing time. If I can't hold 7:00 in training, chances are I won't do it in the race. Pfitz features 2 long runs were you run at MP for the majority of the run (12 and 14 miles). These really helped me to focus on the correct pace. The program also uses a nice combination of speed/tempo training with easy days for recovery. The worst part are the mid-week medium long runs that go up to 15 miles. Those can be challenging, but they will help you in the long run. Then you hit taper and you're feeling great! Any other questions? I'm a