Hello/Introduction and please advise on shoes (Read 100 times)

WeinerDogRaces

Hello all!

My name is Stephanie, I am a 30 y/o F living in AZ and brand new to running.

I know absolutely nothing technical about running whatsoever and am looking for some advice on shoes, for both running and walking.

My height is 5'5'', weight is 140 (don't judge). My job is very active, I walk the equivalent of 10-15 miles a day, doing heavy lifting all the while and spend a lot of time on my knees as well (ok, that sounds kinda bad, but i am not a prostitute, i swear...). My knees are usually very stiff and sore, am currently recovering from a slight tear in my left meniscus. I will often work up to 12 hours and am looking for a lightweight shoe. My only other requirements are that they have to be (mostly) black, rubber soled, and hopefully not too ugly.  What do you suggest/ not suggest? I am taking all suggestions, both general and specific.

How about running shoes? My feet are a bit wide, and a bit flat and I am slightly pigeon toed. Cute, right?

Currently I am only able to use the elliptical machine due to the knee injury, but when I'm back at it I will be running on paved sidewalks and streets, in the city. I am not up to long distance yet as I am pretty out of shape, but would like to work myself up to 5k, 10k.

What kind of shoes should I be looking for? Again, general or specific info regarding types of shoes, weight, style, pronation (i don't really know what that means, but I see it on running shoe sites), even brands.

Thanks in advance!

#artbydmcbride

While this is the very best place to come for this advice....I actually suggest that you visit a local running shoe store and talk to them and try on various shoes.

Runners run