FIRST Training Program?? (Read 162 times)

ckerr1999

Thinking of trying the FIRST training program. I have been running now for about 9 months. I completed my first Half-Marathon after 3 months in 2:12. Then last weekend completed my second half marathon at 1:54. An 18 minute improvement. My training over the last 2 1/2 months averaged 35-40 miles a week, with progressively longer run of 13-16 miles. I am now focusing on training for my first marathon this October. Before I discovered the FIRST method, I was going to try and keep building my base up to 50-60 miles a week. The lower mileage on FIRST concerns me. However I understand the intensity is much more. I guess its a trade off. Not too sure if I will enjoy the cross training, but I do own a stationary bike. I would sooner run rather then ride a stationary bike. Not looking to start my formal training program for another week. Yesterday was my first run this the HM, then today winter returned with a vengence with very high winds and hail. So no run today. This next week I am just going to focus on getting back into my normal runing routine.  Thanks

P.S. If i were not to do FIRST, I would probably follow the Hansons training method.

Feeling the growl again