Rest day or no? (Read 851 times)

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to running, but am trying to get more dedicated this year...without getting injured. Yesterday was my long run, and I was planning to rest today, but now I'm feeling motivated and am worried that if I skip today I might not be motivated tomorrow! Similarly, I was running VERY slowly on the treadmill yesterday, and made myself stop at 4 miles because I generally don't run more than 3, and only did 4 once before....but I could've kept going, and I was SO tempted to see how far I could've gone. Is this something runners do - force themselves to stop even though they feel okay, to prevent overdoing it? And how important is the timing of rest days?
    AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

I'm not a long-time runner, and I'm sure some of them will reply. Last summer I was limiting myself to every other day running, to ensure enough rest. Now that I'm trying to get ready for a marathon, I'm up to 4-5 times a week, but I'm still taking off the day after my long run. I've seen people suggest doing a recovery run instead of a day off -- a slow short run, that is much less than one could do, I think -- but for now I'm sticking with taking an entire day off after long.

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

Listen to your body. If you feel good, go ahead and run. At least that's what I try to do. My foot has been telling me it hurts too much to run, so although I don't like it, I'm trying to listen. Tongue
        Scout7