Help! Shin splints- HM three weeks away! (Read 132 times)

Hi all!  This is my first time posting, though I have been lurking since I joined RA in February.  As you can see from the title of my post, I seem to be suffering from shin splits, and I have a half marathon in just under three weeks.  It seems to be posterior shin splints, with the pain being just above my ankle on the inside of my right leg.  I could really use some suggestions for what I can do to help my situation- I've been really looking forward to this race, and would hate to have to forfeit.

A little background- I'm a new again runner.  I ran for a couple of years, got three HM's under my belt before I gave up running for a whole host of complicated reasons that aren't really relevent here.  In any case, after a six year running hiatus, I started running again in February.  I completed the C25k program, then the one hour runner program, and then started training for this HM.  I have increased my mileage incredibly slowly, and was having little trouble with aches and pains until I was forced to run on the treadmill while away on vacation a little more than a week ago.  Ever since then, I've had this pain on the inside of my right leg.  The pain isn't excruciating- I can run through it- but it's certainly not getting any better.  I'm concerned that it's going to get really ugly if I don't do something about it soon.  If I can somehow get through this HM, I was planning to take it easy until the end of the year, at which time I will start training for a 30k race.

Last week, I completed two 5 mile runs, a 3 mile run, and a 10 mile run.  This is my highest weekly mileage so far since I started running again.  The pain didn't get any worse  while running, but it didn't get better either.