Calf Cramps (Read 571 times)

runrockclimb

I have been training for a half marathon for the last 7 weeks or so, and its meant my mileage has been bumped up to about 28-35 miles a week, plus climbing a couple days a week. Before I started training I probably ran 20 or 25 at most with climbing a couple days a week. The first few weeks I had no problems, but recently I am having the worst time with cramps in my calves. I've never had this issue before.

Usually they happen at night. If I am laying in bed and stretch out it triggers one. I have trouble at least once a week, sometimes a few times a week.  My calves also feel tight and on the verge of a cramp frequently at night. Its to the point where I am afraid to stretch, even though it feels so nice. The cramps hurt, interrupt my sleep, and leave me sore for days afterwards. What can I do to help prevent them? I've tried eating more bananas, it helps some I think, but I'm still having an issue.

Are you drinking enough water? Sometimes I have this problem when I'm dehydrated. The other thing that seems to trigger it for me is not getting enough sleep. Maybe also try foam rolling?

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Are you getting enough magnesium and calcium?  Low potassium (re: bananas) can be a factor, but so can magnesium and calcium.

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

Usually they happen at night. If I am laying in bed and stretch out it triggers one. I have trouble at least once a week, sometimes a few times a week.  My calves also feel tight and on the verge of a cramp frequently at night. Its to the point where I am afraid to stretch, even though it feels so nice. The cramps hurt, interrupt my sleep, and leave me sore for days afterwards. What can I do to help prevent them? I've tried eating more bananas, it helps some I think, but I'm still having an issue.