HM help please - RR added (Read 230 times)

runningmum

AKA bear2009

Hi everyone.

I was hoping for some advice for my upcoming half (next weekend).  I am trying to work out my strategy for the race.  My training has been way down this cycle due to a number of reasons, but I have remained injury free (which is my primary goal for the year).  The two options I am debating are:

- go out fairly slowly, but try to speed up towards the end if I can, walk up hills/water stops as needed

- use a walk/run method from the start, but again, if feeling good at the end, speed up/drop the walk breaks.

Option number 1 is my usual strategy when I run HMs, and usually seems to work well, but I am feeling more undertrained than usual, and am wondering if I should try option 2 this time.

Some background - I have been running for about 4 years, completed 8 HMs, and have been frequently injured.  Decided this year to cut my mileage back and increase cross training, and this seems to be working so far.  I had a very strong, hilly 7 mile race about a month ago, where I felt awesome throughout and at the end.  I then crashed on my long run the following weekend (I think it took me longer to recover than expected).  Ran a 10 mile LR 2 weeks ago, then 8 miles this weekend.  Pace on the run/walk 8 mile was 10 sec/mile faster than the 10 miles fully running.

Goal for this race is to finish it strong (not going for a PR this time)

Thanks in advance.

Clair

2013 Goals:

1. Start, stay, and finish the year uninjured!

Have you tried negative splits?

What I like doing is:

1.  First 7km @ HM Pace +10 seconds

2.  Second 7km @ HM Pace

3.  Pedal to the medal - Finish last 7.1km @ HM - 10 seconds (or whatever you have left!)

It is a pretty awesome feel as you run the last 7+km and you are passing everyone!

runningmum

AKA bear2009