Flat Feet Shoe Recommendations (Read 304 times)

JerryInIL

Return To Racing

Do any of you flat footers have a favorite running shoe for every day runs?

Do any of you flat footers have a favorite running shoe for every day runs?

my shoes of choice might be overkill for you. I am overweight, flat footed, and a pronator. I have had great luck with the Brooks Beast.

Knees and ankles are holding up to the constant pounding of a 275lb dude running between 35-40 miles a week.

”Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.”

“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't--you're right.”

Tomas

Butter Tart

I don't think that flat feet necessarily demand a particular type of shoe. I have flat feet and I've been running in Saucony Kinvaras for the last 6-7 months with no ill effects.

cmb4314

Go get fitted for shoes at a running store.

Being flat footed is often correlated with overpronation, but not always.  Some flat footed people have a neutral gait.  And on top of that, even if you overpronate, there are varying levels of overpronation and varying levels of support in shoes.

Few people need as much support as the Beast - it's a motion control shoe, which is the absolute most supportive shoe you can buy.  I am flat footed, and wear shoes a step down in stability from motion control - I wear Brooks Adrenaline mostly.