Please Advice on how many days to run a week, Please Help (Read 1595 times)

Luvtorun49

I have a question for all of the experienced runners out there.  I run every other day each week around the same time each morning.  Is it true that especially in the beginning ( been running 2mths+) that when I do what would be a Long run for me...yesterday for exp being 6 miles that I Need and Should take today off?   I have seen people that run 6 days a week, 7 days a week and 4 days a week like I do.   I really would love to add a day or two to my running schedule but I definitely don't want to do anything to cause injury.   Any Advice?

Thanks soooo much.    I am 49 yrs old and thank God have not had any problems with knees, calves etc. as of now

You'll get some good advice here. I'm a slow, back of the pack, low mileage guy, but I'll chime in anyway. When I started training for my first marathon, I read that when you got older it was a good idea to run every other day to give yourself recovery time, so that's what I did for a year or so. Now I'll run a few days in a row with no problem. After a long run ( or a race) I usually do a very easy 2 mile run- recovery run is what I think they call it around here.  The advice you will get here probably will be to run more days per week.

If you're feeling good and healthy and want to run more days, then go for it.

Runners run

I'm 59 and have been running for over 8 years, so I guess that makes me on of those experienced runners.  Your body will tell you if you are overdoing it - you just need to listen.  If in doubt, take it easy.  You should be able to run every day if you want - just keep the distance short enough and speed low enough that you don't cause problems for yourself.  Almost all running problems boil down to trying to run too far too soon too fast. 

We all improve at our own rate.  A friend started running at the same age as I did.  It took him three months to make more progress than I did in four years.