Complete noob (Read 1122 times)

meaow

I have never ran before, went on the occasional jog and felt like i was going to die.

I am in no way overweight 19 female 5'10 and 147lbs.

I do bike rides occasionally and am learning to snowboard, thats the extent of my exercise.

Need to get fit, so could somebody outline a plan for me please ? Or give me some tips.

I can work out any day, for as long as needed.

Thanks Smile

#artbydmcbride

Run (jog) for 4 minutes, walk for 1 minute, run 4 minutes, walk 1 minute, repeat for 3 miles.   Do this every other day.

after 2 months of this, try running for 10 minutes, then walk 1 minute etc. 

Check back regularly (at least every week) and let us know how it is going.   We'll give advice from your feedback.   Smile   Some will be helpful.

Runners run

meaow,

thats about as good as any advice you are going to get-close to perfect.  now just get out there & do it!

run or jog slowly. Most noobs run far too fast when they decide to give running a try.....I did. If you can't hold a conversion comfortably while running, you're going to hard.

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

2014 Goals:

Stay healthy

Enjoy life

DoppleBock

When I 1st started - I had a nice 4 mile loop.  I would jog until I felt like walking then walk till I felt like jogging.  I did this 5-6 days a week.  If I felt like walking th ewhole thing once a week that was fine.  It started with about 2 blocks of jogging then 2 blocks of walking - repeat.  I just slowly worked it to running the whole way.  After I could run the whole way - Once per week I would go further and Once a week I would do it a bit faster.

The 1st few months - keep the pace easy - Better to jog futher than faster.  After that add 1 faster day a week.

Long dead ... But my stench lingers !

Troy.