Water Strategy for Ten-Mile Race (Read 207 times)

Julia1971

Never said I "needed" to drink.  I was thinking mostly in terms of planning for a possible hot day, should I encounter one.  Also, I am not that experienced at this particular distance.  On a usual October morning, no, I would not need to drink in a ten-mile race, and so I guess I am fast.  Also, the fact that I am running in the first wave should indicate that I have at least some speed, don't ya think?

I didn't have any advice re the water drinking but...

It should not be hot.  I've run the ATM several times and really can't remember it ever being too warm to race well.  I logged 50 degrees at race start last year and 54 degrees the year before.  There was a year when there was no water for the back-of-the-packers in the later miles - I think someone referenced it earlier in the thread - but since then, I haven't heard any complaints about water.

If you're trying to PR, your bigger concern is crowding.  Even from the first wave.  I'm a 7:00 pace runner and things didn't thin out for me until mile 3 or 4.  The water stops, in particular, are mayhem.  Better to skip the water stops during the first 5 miles of the race so you can pass slower runners, IMHO.

mikeymike

Why are so many people negative on this? Some people don't want to drink , some do.  Why attack them just because they want to drink? They asked for advice and suggestions about drinking on the race.  Why not give advice about drinking in a race?  You may say i don't drink in a 10 mile but that is really totally irrelevant.  Give advice on using the straw or pinching the cup or practicing or whatever,  it makes no sense to tell them you don't have to drink, that was not what they asked about.