Racing is Awesome! (Read 534 times)

Hey folks, I have been running pretty much non stop for the past 6 years...I am in the Army and that is just part of our lives! Up to this year I never participated in races....as a matter of fact running more than 2-4 miles always seemed kind of dumb to me. My first race ever was the NYC Midnight Run this past New Year's eve. It was a fun run and I didn't even train for it...we had been in the field for almost 2 months straight military training with no PT and no running. Even though it was just a fun run (or maybe because it was a fun run) I got hooked...I decided I would try a half marathon next. I ran my first half marathon on Jan 13 - the Museum of Aviation Half Marathon, at Robins Air Force Base, GA. I had planned in finishing it in about 2 hours...being my first 1/2 and all...I ended up finishing in 1:46:53, third place in my age group. I didn't even know I won an award, and went home right after the race. 2 weeks later I received a little trophy in the mail...pretty awesome! My next race was the Hilton Head Half Marathon - Hilton Head Island, SC, on Feb 10. I hadn't planned on doing this race. We were going to be in the field, military training for three weeks straight and were not supposed to be back until Feb 10. We managed to be back the night before so I decided to go ahead and do another race. I was feeling pretty fatigued after three weeks sleeping on the back of a tank, waking up at 5:00 AM and going to bed after midnight and training everyday. On top of all that I had bruised my left knee and shin pretty bad after taking a plunge off the turret of my tank. I finished the half marathon in 1:38:05 - second place in my age group. This time I stuck around for the award ceremony....pretty awesome! Well today, I ran my third race - the Run the Reagan Half Marathon in Snellville, GA. I finished in 1:34:15 - third place in my age group and another award....uber awesome! I wish I had been doing races before... my prejudice