Dumb things we runner types are guilty of... (Read 1188 times)

Member Since 2008

Here is my dumb moment Zoom, I have been training for several months for a biathlon (40K bike, 10K run) in a town that is two hours away from where I live. The day before the race, I loaded up my bike on the back of my car. I checked into the motel at 8:00pm at night and went to dinner with my wife. I got back to the Motel at 9:20pm, and crawled into bed to get lots of rest. As I laid there looking at my bike, I noted a nice hole in my rear tire, Shockedevidentially caused by my cars exhaust. I went to Wal-mart (waste of time). I ended up driving all the way home, got my spare tires and tools and drove back to the Motel. By the time I got to sleep, it was 2:00am. My alarm went off at 5:00am. Needless to say my times sucked, but I finished!! Tongue Beat that one!
    zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Neg splits? All you need to know is the halfway point. Even if you don't know where you are you can always go out and back.
      Well, I will say that I almost always take less time to run the return leg of any out-and-back...though I know some of that is due to most of my routes having more uphills on the way out than on the way back. Wink k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

I ended up driving all the way home, got my spare tires and tools and drove back to the Motel. By the time I got to sleep, it was 2:00am. My alarm went off at 5:00am. Needless to say my times sucked, but I finished!! Tongue Beat that one!
        Oh, Ken...I think you win! How awful! Road bike tires aren't all that cheap, either, which just adds insult to injury, I'm sure. k

~ Sarah Kay

I've done this more than once Blush ... failing to wake up early enough to beat the heat in the summer ... and going running at noon when it's 95* out ... stupid, stupid, stupid!
          2009: BQ?