Resting Heart Rate (Read 1605 times)

Doctor(s),

Why is a lower resting heart rate better than a higher resting heart rate?

Sleep 7 hours.... = 420 minutes

-Athletic resting HR - 50 beats per minute = 21,000 beats during 7 hours of sleep

-Non-Athletic resting HR - 70 beats per minute = 29,400 beats during 7 hours of sleep

Why is it "good" to have a lower resting HR?

I'm looking for an answer unrelated to athletic performance.  I'm not looking for an answer that says 'because it'll make you faster during a race'.

Thanks,

Life Goals:

#1: Do what I can do

#2: Enjoy life

your heart has a factory limit on the total number of beats.  when you reach that limit you die.  that's why elephants live longer than hummingbirds. 

I'm no doctor, and I didn't stay at a holiday inn express last night, but doesn't it simply mean that your heart doesn't have to work as hard to do your every day tasks (i.e. live)? And, if your heart doesn't have to work as hard, that seems like a good thing. 

I'm no doctor, and I didn't stay at a holiday inn express last night, but doesn't it simply mean that your heart doesn't have to work as hard to do your every day tasks (i.e. live)? And, if your heart doesn't have to work as hard, that seems like a good thing. 

I like the answer (makes sense).... but, why, then, would we exercise, and stress out our heart for an hour or two, and make it work harder than normal?

Wouldn't it be better to always be between 70 & 100?

BTW, I like Doug's response as well.  I've thought often about how close to that final beat I may be....  Doesn't seem like it's a great thing to think about though...

Life Goals:

I like the answer (makes sense).... but, why, then, would we exercise, and stress out our heart for an hour or two, and make it work harder than normal?

Wouldn't it be better to always be between 70 & 100?