New to running (Read 926 times)

AnnaDowning

Hi everyone.

I'm new to running and just started with a group (Howard County Striders) to learn how to run.  Is it normal for you to feel out of shape and walk when you get out of breath with running? 

I've been exercising 3-4 times a week but never ran before so this is new to me.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I want to stick with running.  Thanks!Smile

Anna

an amazing likeness

Completely normal.  You have to build up your body's ability to run over time.

Walk as much as you need.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

Welcome to this great sport! It is addictive though... you have been warnedSmile

Walking is perfectly okay. However, if you slow down, you may be able to run more. The difference between running and walking is that when you are walking, one foot is always on the ground; when you are running there are moments when both of your feet are in the air. If you try to run at the slowest possible speed while following the definition of running, you might be able to run more.

running is somewhat like playing golf to me.   crappy shots all day long, ready to give it up & wondering why I'm trying so hard just to get this stupid little ball into a stupid little hole but then out of the blue comes a monster drive or a long putt that actually gets into the cup.  bingo! that one shot keeps me going for the rest of day no matter how crappy I continue to play & gets me back out again on another day.   strange. -- skyedog

BeeRunB