Excuse me... I just Fartleked? (Read 939 times)

thumbs up!

I'm a newbie runner. Just wondering what a Fartlek is, and why/when I might do it.
    2010 Goals
    1. get to and maintain 20 MPW
    2. sub 50 min Crazy Legs 8k -- April 10 (so close! 50:13... next year)
    3. sub 30 min 5k
    4. improved time in Madison half marathon -- May 10
      it's basically choosing to sprint certain distances within a regular run-- like, you're running along and then decide you'll pick up your pace between the next two lamp-posts or from the first cutie-pie you pass til the next, etc. it keeps things fun-- it turns a routine run into play. and oh yeah, it builds a kind of speedwork into your running routine which trains your body to run faster, ups your lactate threshold, builds more muscle more quickly, burns more calories, gives you a differently colored bar in your graph, etc. you can make it as formal/regular or as random and varying as you choose. it's fun!
      zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

And you can claim you speak Swedish, too! I have an "I fartlek'd" sticker on the back of my car, as well as an "uff da" sticker--gotta represent my Scandinavian heritage, ya know! Smile k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

Anyone have pizza?

I love to do a fartlek when it's raining outside. No one is usually around. Trouble with those runs is like always, in New York, you have to really watch out for traffic. That's why I call those runs in particular.....SBD Fartleks. Silent But Deadly Fartleks (Duh,,,,as if I even needed to explain that! DOH!!!) Tongue Tongue Tongue