beach running (Read 900 times)

arthur90

is there anything i need to know about running on the beach? i'm new to it and i ran barefoot today, is running with or without shoes best?
    Run like hell and get the agony over with. Those who say i will lose and am finished will have to run over my body to beat me.
      In my experience there is only one thing to be concerned about when running at the beach. That is being aware of possible ITB (iliotibial Band) problems due to the slope of the beach. Try to run on the flattest part of the beach. The slope can cause some major problems if you spend too much time on one side of the slope. Try to balance it out.

Go Green Wave!

My coach would always yell at me: Coach: What is glass made out of? Me: Sand Needless to say he didn't like me running barefoot on the beach during practice Smile
          Personall, I always run on the beach with running sneakers. I've stepped on shells while just going to the beach for fun and that hurt a lot (and sometimes left painful bruises), so I don't take my chances of coming down on one hard mid-stride. I also always make sure to go close to low tide, run on the flat, hard-packed sand, and do the same distance out and back to balance the slope on both legs. I do maybe a quarter to a third of all of my runs on the beach, and it's a great workout.
            Perfect timing! Going to OBX after the Bar, and definitely plan on getting some beach running in Smile
            2009: BQ?