half marathon distance still intimidating (Read 301 times)

onefatchick

5 weeks to go till my first half marathon race and training is going fairly well.   (My log is available for those interested). BUT!  the distance of 13.1 miles is still mentally intimidating and challenging to me. 

In the past few months I  have done 2 long runs of 13.1 and several long runs in the 11-12+ mile range.   These days I am finding the distance of 10 miles to be non-intimidating, whereas before I started training for the half I used to think 10 miles was impossibly long when my "long" runs were just 7 miles.  Does the mental challenge of 13.1  become easier the more you do it or do I need to do even higher mileage long runs to make 13.1 seem less intimidating?  With five weeks to go, I am planning two of my long runs be in the 14 mile range and one in the 13 mile range.  Should I bump up one of those 14 miles to 15 miles?  Or is that asking for trouble at this point?  My long runs are looking like this over the next five weeks:

10 (cut back week)

race

And  does anyone use any kind of mental tricks on race day to make the half marathon distance less intimidating?.  Do you break it down into more mentally manageable chunks like:

3 x 4 miles + 1.1

4 x 3 miles + 1.1

2 x 5 miles + 5k

or even

2 x 6 miles + 1.1?

or do you just run one mile at a time?

Thanks!

Buzzie

Bacon Party!

The distance itself will become less intimidating. Then, you'll start worrying about how you're going to go FAST for the duration.

Looking at your log, I think you're doing great ... Becoming consistent with 5 days / week, including a 60+min mid-week run, your weekend long run and some slightly uptempo work.

At this point, I'd stick with your planned long runs - you have five more opportunities to make friends with the distance. (And, yes, 10 miles is close enough to call it good half marathon prep.)

No need to go looking for trouble.