Half Marathon or Full Marathon (Read 954 times)

I have signed up for the Denver Half Marathon in October. Lately I have been thinking about changing to the full marathon but I am not sure if I am ready. I have been running since September 2006 and have done 5 Half Marathons since December of 2007. How would you recommend I increase my training if I do decide to go for it. I don't want to hate the experience and put me off of running. I want to enjoy it and finish (BQ maybe?) Thank you for any help.
    jeffdonahue

The only real difference in your training would probably be your long runs - though you might consider making one of your other weekly runs a little longer too. Looking at your log, you have done two 13 milers recently, so I think you probably have plenty of tiem to build up your long runs to a respectable level to do a full marathon. Best of luck
        Agree with jeffdonahue Cool You have a good base - but you are lacking on longer runs...so you need to slowly lengthen your long runs....and get in a couple of 20 milers before the Marathon..........along with some 16 and 18er too..... I think you can do it....that is if you can get enough of that Mile High air to push you thru a Marathon....

Champions are made when no one is watching

Absolutely, positively, no doubt about it, and I don't mean maybe... Do the half--try to trim some more time off your last one. See if you can gradually build up to 200 miles a month and start stringing them together for a while. Then think about beginning marathon training. You are probably more ready to start marathon training than half the people on these forums, but that doesn't mean you are ready. You are doing great now and have a good program going. Don't let the 80% of the people who are going to tell you to do it cloud your judgment. Good luck whatever you decide
          Age 60 plus best times: 5k 19:00, 10k 38:35, 10m 1:05:30, HM 1:24:09, 30k 2:04:33
          JakeKnight