When 5 miles feels like death (Read 780 times)

I was on vaca for 2 months, did a lot of running, but not as much as I normally do. Shorter distances, etc. Then I got a chest cold. Not a bad one. ( just coughing up nasty stuff from my chest and a runny nose ) I was sick for about 4 days and it ended around 7/21. Well, I feel like a 90 year old when I'm trying to run now. It is all I can do to finish 5 miles. This has been for the last 2 weeks. I feel out of breath and all I want to do is stop. It's awful. I'm beginning to think I can't run anymore. I've been running on and off for the last 20 years and have never felt this shi__y before. Do you think it will pass?

- Anya

zzz

any possibility of a bit of pneumonia?
      C-R

or bronchitis. I had a similar thing happen about 5 years ago. At least that's what the doc thought. A few meds and a short time later, things improved. Best bet here is to call Dr. Trent if he can tear himself away from that train wreck of a post on VO2max.

"He conquers who endures" - Persius
        "Every workout should have a purpose. Every purpose should link back to achieving a training objective." - Spaniel

http://ncstake.blogspot.com/

I've never had pheumonia or bronchitis before. I don't think it is either, since I'm no longer sick. But, probably a good idea to get it checked out if it continues. It's weird. The worst part, I have a relay race at the end of September. I can't ditch it, but I'm not sure I can do it at this point! Embarrassed

- Anya

Prince of Fatness

Another thing to consider would be allergies. I heard that it is supposed to start earlier and be more severe this year.

Not at it at all. 

Ringmaster