Just got invited to do the NYC Marathon (Read 516 times)

Ojo

Can I pull this off? I started training for a fall marathon and then decided not to because of some set backs. Now I am feeling better with only some minor back issues and have been running regularly again. Please look at my log and see what you think. If I pick up my training schedule I could do 16 this weekend then 18, 20, 22 and possibly a 24 every other weekend. Just a little background that I did do a full 5/4. I know this wouldn't be my greatest race but I could just do it and have fun. Since that marathon and some injuries I am running slower in general. I do feel obligated to do it as someone actually invited me through a major company -- at the moment I am torn between being totally excited and throwing up! Blush Thanks!

Sara

MM #2929

JakeKnight

You've already done one. And while your mileage is relatively low, your training is consistent And it's NYC. Are you saying you've got a guaranteed entry? No lottery? If so, unless you've got a real chance of serious injury, I'd run it in a heartbeat. Even if just as a long training run.

E-mail: eric.fuller.mail@gmail.com
      -----------------------------

Imminent Catastrophe

From a two-time lottery loser: DOIT! You don't need to PR, just enjoy.

"Able to function despite imminent catastrophe"

"To obtain the air that angels breathe you must come to Tahoe"--Mark Twain

"The most common question from potential entrants is 'I do not know if I can do this' to which I usually answer, 'that's the whole point'.--Paul Charteris, Tarawera Ultramarathon RD.

√ Javelina Jundred Jalloween 2015

Cruel Jewel 50 mile May 2016

Western States 100 June 2016

missy1102

i ran it last year and it is my all-time favorite marathon. i actually wished that i hadm't been so serious about pursuing a PR so i could enjoy it more and soak it all in. DO IT. i think every marathoner should run it at least once Cool
          milkbaby