Marathoner Wannabes (Read 1055 times)

I want to run a marathon...eventually...some day. It's a goal. It's out there waiting for me. I've been running for a few years now. I started getting semi-serious last summer when I ran my first half. Just finished another half and I'm inspired to run a marathon (the whole 26.2). But I'm also a little humbled (terrified) by the distance and time committment it's takes. Is anyone else out there a "marathoner wannabe"? Anyone have concrete plans to run their first marathon in the next year? Which one? What's your strategy/motivation? Sara
      I am in the maybe someday category. Right now, I just want to get back to running daily. I will see how things go and perhaps try for Fort Worth's Cowtown Marathon in February 2008. My goal would be to complete the distance while keeping an easy steady pace. I probably would not have run a half marathon as soon as I did had I not found this website "What's your strategy/motivation?" It's just something I want to do. "If these old(er) folks can do it so can I!"

Vim

va

Hi Sara, I prefer the term "marathon gonnabe"! Big grin concrete plans: I am running the Richmond Marathon on November 10th. motivation/strategy: I am trying to get my act together, i.e., to learn how to eat right, exercise more, lose weight, and live a healthier lifestyle. Training for a marathon, requires a long term commitment, the kind I want to make, to be healthier. I signed up in January, 11 months ahead of time, and told as many people as possible, so there is no backing out.
        zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Is anyone else out there a "marathoner wannabe"? Anyone have concrete plans to run their first marathon in the next year? Which one? What's your strategy/motivation?