winter base training questions (Read 253 times)

My personal feelings are that it is better to focus on listening to your body than an external device working against some arbitrary heart rate thresholds.

ah well I see your point. For me using a HRM though helped me to learn what my body was telling me. The thresholds aren't arbitrary either, just need to avoid generic formulas like the plague. Smile

My issue with HR training is more that HR can be affected by more than just the current running intensity. It's still usable though and can teach you how to run slow enough for recovery runs etc. Smile

But yeah I know some people can "feel out" all the right intensities without the help of HR training. I can now do that too without relying on help from a HRM, just as a beginner I couldn't. Smile

Why is it sideways?

NHLA

I run 8 mile runs weekdays and 16 miles a day on weekends.  Mondays off.  If I get really sore two days off.

I don't worry about speed work because I run in the mountains. Lots of 3-4 mile hills.

Build your miles up to 50-80mpw. Two a days are a good way to build up miles.

NikoRosa

Funky Kicks 2019

I treat winter the same way I treat the rest of the year.  I do slow down because I am wearing more clothes and heavier shoes (often with additional traction control devices strapped on).  But I consider the extra weight a bonus.  The first warm day in spring with lighter shoes and fewer layers...you feel like you are FLYING.

Right now I am doing 60-65 miles per week at an 8:30-9:00 pace.  I run the same hills and before long they  are going to get slippery with snow and slush but again, I see that as an increase in the workout intensity since I am working so much harder even if I am slower.  I have never come out of winter feeling like I have lost speed.  As soon as the conditions improve, so do my times.