My Aerobic conditioning- HORRIBLE! (Read 870 times)

I'm putting this in Running 101 because I feel like a complete beginner again. Not that I was an elite before, but this is frustrating. After running Chicago, I ran sporadically due to nursing some nagging injuries. Those have mostly cleared up and so I'm trying to get back on a regular schedule of 4 runs a week. (3 shorter week day runs and a longer run on the weekend) Apparently as a result of this lay off, I've lost a lot of my aerobic conditioning. My HR can easily get into the 160's and sometimes 170's with ease. So, this week I decided to really slow it down and walk when I have to in order to keep the HR from getting above 150. I hate this running. I don't even call it running. Durning my marathon training, my Garmin fried and I lost the use of my HR monitor. I then just ran, knowing that around a 10:00 pace would put my average HR around 155. I enjoyed those runs. Once I got my Garmin back I used my HR monitor again and found that my pace was a little better and my HR was a little lower. This tends to make me think that the body will adapt the HR to be more efficient with the more miles you run regardless of whether you purposely concentrate on keeping it below a certain point or not. It just naturally adjusts. What I'm thinking now is that I should just go out and run. Concentrate more on building back my miles and ignore the HR monitor for now. I'll just run and I'll back off when I feel I'm overdoing it exertion wise. Am I faulty in this thinking? BTW, I have no training goals right now. I'll run a 10K for fun in May and probably won't do a HM until next fall. I'm really just running now to run. When I get back to 25 to 30 miles a week I'll be happy.