Why the Kenyans are so fast (Read 693 times)

GC100k

I guess the fossil record shows that people ran incorrectly in prehistoric times, because his central thesis is that no one can run correctly unless he teaches them.  I'm not sure who taught T-Rex or ostriches how to run.

It can't be that people ran with their feet in-line, because that's how the vast majority of people naturally run when they run fast.  When I was a running beginner 20 years ago, my running friend told me to try to run so each foot lands on the same line.  Also, since I was heavy, I started with a very non-bouncy, almost speed-walking method.  So those things cannot be what SJ proposes, because they are not new or radical.

But again, I'm an idiot, so what do I know?

Turbolegs

What is the link between efficiency and speed? Why does the fastest technique over a distance also need to be the most efficient? I dont see how the fact that kenyan women can carry loads with less energy expenditure (assuming that is true) has anything to do with marathon training.

In a real world, i spend less energy walking 100m than sprinting 100m even though theoretically energy expended should be the same. Doesnt mean i am going to be walking a marathon??

I dont sweat. I ooze liquid awesome.

Feeling the growl again

So those things cannot be what SJ proposes, because they are not new or radical.

You are operating on the hypothesis that a rational thought process is at play and then trying to find a way to rationalize how all this fits together.

Occam's razor.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

GC100k

You are operating on the hypothesis that a rational thought process is at play and then trying to find a way to rationalize how all this fits together.

Occam's razor.