half marathon as part of marathon training (Read 1100 times)

My question is if running a half marathon on March 2nd would be ok when training for the cleveland marathon on May 18? I agreed to run it with a guy I run with twice a week. The half marathon course is tough! It is really hilly. This is my first marathon I am training for. Advice? Should I run it like an easy run and just enjoy the well spaced water and gatoraide stops? or Should I run it at marathon pace as practice? or Should I bust it like a real race and use it as a guage of my current fitness level? ok my background. I have been running since June of 2006 regularly. 2006 - 4 days a week 15 - 25 miles per week. 2006 races. 5k, 15k, half marathon. 2007 4 days a week usually right about 20 miles. In Dec I added a 5th day. and have been running longer on non-long runs. and am up in the 30-35 range now for the last 3 weeks. 2007 races two half marathons, a 15k, and a 5 miler.
      Sorry - take the next guy's advice - I misread and thought you only had two weeks between the two races - not two months. Big grin

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Go for it and run it as a race to gauge your current fitness. This should help to give you an idea on what kind of pace you can reasonably accomlish for your (first?) marathon. Also, you'll be a couple of months out so you have ample time for recovery and it would probably help to break up the marathon training.
        Scout7

Race it. You will have over a month to recover from the effort, which should be plenty.
          Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

Race it. 6 weeks between a tune-up half and a full are darn near ideal. It'll give you a great indication as to what you can expect for performance in Cleveland. Are you in the Cleveland area?

Feeling the growl again