Advil During a race (Read 1893 times)

RunFree7

Run like a kid again!

I compare doctors to myself.  I feel that I am competent in my day job but I recognize that I'm not an expert in everything (or anything!).  Doctors are not any different. 

It pays to be skeptical.  As they say on CSI "trust but verify."

Greg

Sorry I haven't read the whole thread but most of it so I might have missed something.  So with that said, and this will not help your argument Greg, I agree with you or at least your post. 

I got a speeding ticket where I had 3 police officers from different areas tell me the speed limit on the street I got a ticket on had to be 35.  This street did not have any speed limit signs on it.  Other streets around it were 45 or greater.  None of them quoted anything or showed me why they felt this.  They just knew it must be.  I read up on the subject,, thanks to the world wide web and felt it might be 55.  Anway, checked with the Departement of Transportation to find out it was 55.  Took it to court and won. 

My point is most people would take the word of the professional as law.  He is a police officer he must be right.  He is a doctor he must be right.  I think a wise person listens to what others say and gets multiple opinons while also doing research on the important things.  Like you said nobody is an expert at everything.  Being a police officer or a doctor must be very hard jobs. Nobody can know everything about all of the laws/rules out there or everything about the human body. 

My two cents worth but after the stock market crash it is only worth 1 penny.

2011 Goals:
      Sub 19 5K (19:24 5K July 14th 2010)
      Marathon under 3:05:59 BQ (3:11:10 Indy 2010)

Pick a new race and get back out there.  Hell, tell me which one and I'll race you.

Not sure when I'll be ready to race. 

"If you have the fire, run..." -John Climacus