race week workouts. (Read 1309 times)

H RIMZ

This upcoming Sunday, I'm running in a 5k race Ive been training for. My goal is around 16:40-17:10. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas as far as what workouts are most effective for top performance the week of the race. I had planned around 5 mile repeats tomorrow at 5:15-5:20 pace, and then thursday or Friday a 12x200m speed workout . The course the race is on is really flat and all paved so hills aren't going to be a factor, any suggestions are much appreciated.

mile- 4:37

2 mile 10:05 (Training run)

5 km-16:38 -5:22 11/15/2009

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

There's a 5K race forum; I don't know if it will be helpful, but it may be worth checking.

I'm no expert, but I'm not sure how effectively you can train for it during the week just prior.

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

xor

Yeah, I can't speak your paces but 5x1mile and 10x200m (two days before!) seem counter productive.  5x1mi would trash me for at least a week.

Feeling the growl again

There's not much you can do the week of a race to improve the outcome, but a lot you can do to make it worse.

Any workout that creates any real fatigue -- the type that is normally productive training -- I would shy away from the week of a goal race.  Anything that gets the legs turning over well, but leaves you simply refreshed and not fatigued, is probably ok.  Other than that the specifics don't matter much.  Your body takes time to adapt to stimulus and improve and 2 weeks is about as close as you will do yourself any good.

So some 200 accelerations....I'm not sure you need 12....to peak your neuromuscular coordination is about all that will really help you.