How much would you pay to race? (Read 1198 times)

OK, I'm cheap and I'm about to sign up for a race that's a lot of money (I'll provide more information once I actually sign up).

It's a goal race that I've been dreaming about for a few years that I'll likely talk about 30 years from now to whoever has ears to hear (in other words, I think it's a big deal).

Now, when it comes to all race items (ie. entry fees, travel, lodging, ...), what is the most that you've paid to race?

I'm hoping to read about some huge numbers so that I can be convinced that what I'm planning on spending for this race is not crazy.

Cheers,
    Brian 

Life Goals:

#1: Do what I can do

#2: Enjoy life

The two years I've done Boston it has cost me about $1,000 total each time.  Easily worth the money, would be worth triple.  I go out with the family and spend $50 on a meal we wont remember in a week.  Think about how many things you really remember from the last ten years.  Now think about how much non-esential stuff you spent money on you completely forgot about.  A event you will remember a lifetime is worth pretty much.

mta:  Boston was fairly cheap for me because I didn't have to fly and stayed in a relatively cheap hotel both times.  Many of the other runners easily spend $1,000 to $1,500 more.

Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul.

Buzzie

Bacon Party!

I just paid about $1,500 total for a race I DNFed. I had free lodging, otherwise it would have been almost $2,000.

That said, the entry fee was quite reasonable.

Liz

pace sera, sera

runnerclay

Consistently Slow

Bermuda Marathon $2500 for 2. DW does not run.

Run until the trail runs out.

SCHEDULE 2016--

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

unsolicited chatter

http://bkclay.blogspot.com/

zoom-zoom