First 10k - your thoughts please.. (Read 725 times)

Hi folks, Im new to this running thing and have to say im absolutely loving it and the great 'buzz' it generates. Thing is, I set myself a goal to run the Dublin 10k in April this year in 60mins, coming from no running history since high school (im now 31). I thought of myself as 'fit-ish' prior to road running. boy was I suprised Smile I would go to gym at least 3times a week for last 2 years and do resistance training. Swim a bit when I can, and surf on weekends back home. I alway looked at those dreadmills as something out of star trek. too many lights and lived in fear of them i guess. So mid Jan i quit the smokes and took to the treadmill. The first time up on that hell-belt was walk run walk walk run for 1k (tough!)...last night was my first 5km outdoor run in windy conditions. Im so happy ive come so far in just 4-5 weeks. Thing is can I repeat that progress for the next 4-5 weeks to reach 10km? i did the 5k last night in 30mins. so am on track. But i think it may be best to concentrate on completing the race 1st then look at watch after. If you could help a newbie soul out it would be great. or maybe bring me back down to earth from my high goals? Cheers, Joe.
    Goals for 2008: 10k - Phoenix Park - 6 April 48:47 1/2 Marathon - Longford - 24 August Marathon - Dublin - 27 October. Its Man v Distance. Distance is in trouble.
    Scout7