New runner (Read 456 times)

Bob B.

The last time I was in good shape, I was a sophomore in HS. That was 19 years ago. Nearly a month ago, kind of out of the blue, I decided to start running again. (actually I've had a couple short lived attempts during the past couple of years). Anyway, the first day, I just ran until I was winded. I would guess I ran 2 or 300 yards. The next day, I just ran a little further. I've been doing that nearly every day (I think I've missed three days). Now, I'm up to about 2.5K. I'm hoping to run a 5K on Jul. 19. If I keep up the pace, I'll be up to 5K three days before the race. So that's my training regimen...just run a bit more each day. As close as I can figure, I'm adding 120 meters each day. I'm not training to compete in the 5K, just finish it, hopefully faster than a half hour. What do you all think of my plan?
      As others will come on here and say, it would help if you posted your log so we can see what you're doing (how fast) day to day. But based on what you've written, "just finishing" a 5k by July 19th should be no problem. Doing it under 30 minutes? That depends on how fast you're running during training. Good luck!

Bob, At present, I think what you're doing is just fine. You're not increasing your mileage drastically (leaving yourself open to injury), or doing anything else radical... at least nothing that you're admitting to Wink I agree with Tanya - the public log helps, and based on the info, not sure at this point about the 30 minute goal. Stay with it, keep the feet moving, and stay motivated through the 5K. Then, you can re-evaluate. Congratulations and welcome!

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Steven Wright

Bob B.