How to motivate a child? (Read 583 times)

DipMom

I am an assistant coach for "Girls on the Run" which is a running program for girls in grades 3-6. We meet twice a week and will finish the program with a 5K in May. My problem is one 11-year-old who is overweight and has no confidence. She ends up walking and complaining to the point that the other girls group around her and feel sorry for her. She refuses to push herself and today she showed up after having coffee and McDonalds for breakfat (parents not much help here). I know she would be so proud of herself if she would just push herself a little. Any advice on how to encourage her and deflect her efforts to bring the rest of the group down?
    FastTalkingFatty