Hi there..I'm new. (Read 1007 times)

Double IPA Please!

I have been running off and on for a few years now- well since my teens. I started running seriously about 2 years ago and due to my own over eagerness (read: Stupidity) I ended up with IT issues with my left knee. Went to an Orthopedist, did the physical therapy thing for a few months and then stopped running completely for the next year and a half. Fast forward to this past August. Started running again seriously and wanted to aim for a 10 mile race this April. Figured I had plenty of time and just started working on my base. I must say that I was doing all of my running on the dreadmill in fear of the shock to my knee -left knee (can you say Gun Shy). Was doing fine, started off slow, made no mistakes..Worked my mileage up to 20 miles a week (this past month) over the course of time since August of 07'. This past month I have been transitioning to road running with my race lingering in the near future. The week before last I did all road runs totaling 21 miles that week. Well, on my last long run of that week about 20 minutes in my Right Hip Flexor as well as Right knee started bothering me. I was too far from home to turn around and nearly at my half way point. I figured, eh, just hit it and be done. Well, I finished that run at a near crawl with frequent walk breaks with tears in my eyes from pain cursing the whole way home. Got home Iced/ibuprofined rinse and repeat the next few days. Then I fell sick with a horrendous Stomach Flu. Figured fine, more time for me to heal. The thing that really gets me is that It was not even the knee that I usually have problems with but the other. My left knee is totally fine. Go figure. Roll eyes Which brings me to today. Wanted to do an easy 3 miler. Felt good, no knee pain, no hip pain. Perhaps I started off too fast, I don't think I did..15 minutes in I was at a crawl and had to walk/run it back home whimpering like a baby. I am so upset/mad/frustrated/pissed off th